Click to Home
Go To Search
Flood Protection
Reducing Flood Hazard
The City of Daytona Beach is committed to doing what is environmentally and fiscally responsible to reduce the hazard of flooding to our residents and business owners. Under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provides Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) that are used to determine areas that are more prone to flooding. These maps show the areas that are expected to be covered with water when 11 inches of rain falls in one day (24 hours). This event, known as the 100-year storm, has a 1% chance of happening in any given year. The FIRM is the official map of our community on which the Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHA) are delineated.

National Flood Insurance Program & Community Rating System
The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) provides federally backed flood insurance for communities that participate in the program. The NFIP established the Community Rating System (CRS) to reward the community for doing more than the minimum NFIP requirements to reduce flood damages and losses. Flood insurance premiums are adjusted for the activities that communities initiate to educate and reduce the impact of flooding.

The city began participating in the NFIP in 1973. May 2008, the city recieved a Class 6 rating. The class increase allowed a 20% reduction in the cost of flood insurance for policy holders in the Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHA) in the City of Daytona Beach.

FEMA Lowest-Floor Flood Insurance Policy
Effective May 1, 2008, FEMA will institute a new policy. Flood insurance policies for buildings that are rated as having the lowest floor one foot or more below the base flood elevation (BFE) will no longer be eligible for the community’s CRS discount.

This new policy only affects elevation-rated buildings. Typically, these are new construction or post-FIRM buildings and not older buildings that qualify for the pre-FIRM, subsidized rates. 

The policy only affects buildings in the mapped Special Flood Hazard Area. Buildings in B, C or X Zones are not rated based on the elevation of their lowest floors.

It does not affect properties in V Zones that have approved breakaway walls and the enclosures are unfinished and used only for building access, storage and parking, but were rated based on the enclosed area being the lowest floor.

The policy does not affect buildings that were compliant when they were built, but later a new map changed the flood zone and /or raised the base flood elevation to a level above the lowest floor. These structures can be grandfathered so they keep premiums based on the flood zone and / or BFE at the time of construction.

Retrofitting for Compliance
If you are affected by this change, there may be ways to retrofit the structure to bring it into compliance. FEMA has provided information in the Homeowner’s Guide to Retrofitting: Six Ways to Protect Your House from Flooding, FEMA-312.